There’s no doubt that Game of Thrones is one of the most loved TV shows, captivating audiences worldwide with its gripping story. There are a total of 8 seasons, and we’re going to discuss the Game of Thrones seasons ranked.

Game of Thrones is a truly fascinating series that offers a fresh perspective on the fantasy genre. It presents a unique blend of thrilling politics and adventure. The show takes us into a world where power plays and political maneuvering shape the fate of kingdoms.

Despite having brilliant storytelling, acting, and great production value, not all seasons of Game of Thrones were great. So today, we will present the Game of Thrones seasons ranked.

Series Overview

Game of Thrones has been adapted from George R.R. Martin’s “A Song of Ice and Fire” novels. The show transports viewers to the captivating world of Westeros and Essos, where noble families contest for power, political intrigues shape destinies, and an upcoming threat of supernatural forces looms.

At the heart of Game of Thrones is a struggle for the Iron Throne, Westeros’s ultimate symbol of authority.

Throughout the series, we follow the journeys of various characters, including the honorable Stark family, the cunning Lannisters, and the exiled Targaryens with their mighty dragons.

Game of Thrones Seasons Ranked

Now let’s rank the seasons of Game of Thrones from worst to best. Keep in mind most of these seasons aren’t bad, but some are just better than others.

8. Season 8


It’s no secret that the final season of Game of Thrones ranks at the bottom of the Game of Thrones seasons ranked list. Even though it wasn’t a total catastrophe, it left the fans with a sour taste in their mouth due to the show’s underwhelming finale.

Season 8 generated polarizing opinions among fans. On one hand, it featured visually stunning battles, long-awaited character confrontations, and emotional resolutions to key storylines.

On the other hand, the shortened episode count and perceived rushed pacing left some viewers feeling unsatisfied. However, Season 8 still managed to deliver powerful and memorable moments that brought closure to several character arcs and storylines.

7. Season 5


Coming in at the number 7 spot on the Game of Thrones seasons ranked list, we have Season 5.

It received mixed reviews from fans and critics alike. Despite some brilliant moments like the breathtaking battle at Hardhome, some viewers found certain plotlines controversial or straying too far from the source material.

Nevertheless, it continued to showcase the complexity and depth of the characters that have become a hallmark of the series.

6. Season 7


Moving forward with our list of the Game of Thrones seasons ranked list, we have Season 7. It accelerated the series’ narrative, setting the stage for the climactic conflicts to come.

The season featured grand battles, including the epic Loot Train Attack and the harrowing Battle of the Frozen Lake. While some viewers criticized the compressed timeline and convenient plot developments, others criticized the pacing issues.

All in all, Season 7 of GoT remains a thrilling and action-packed installment that pushed the story forward.

5. Season 1


We wouldn’t have the rest of the show if the first season wasn’t brilliant. Though, compared to later seasons, it might feel a bit shaky, but the creators had a lot on their plate during the first season.

So when it comes to the Game of Thrones seasons ranked list, season 1 comes at the 5th spot. With its introduction of key players, such as the honorable Ned Stark and the cunning Cersei Lannister, Season 1 established the tone, atmosphere, and intrigue that would come to define the series.

The iconic phrase “Winter is coming” became synonymous with the show’s impending conflicts and established the world of Westeros as a place of danger and political maneuvering.

4. Season 2


Season 2 of Game of Thrones had big shoes to feel, and it rightfully did. After the shocking ending of season 1, this season continued to shock, thrill, and entertain the audience.

Season 2 deepened the political and military conflicts introduced in the first season. It continued exploring the warring factions’ power dynamics, showcasing significant character growth and evolving relationships.

While Season 2 may not be ranked at the very top, it still offered captivating storytelling and memorable moments that kept audiences engaged.

3. Season 3


This season is the next entry on our Game of Thrones seasons ranked list. Season 3 expanded the world of Westeros further, introducing new regions and characters. At this point, it was a living and breathing world.

This season featured many memorable moments, such as The Red Wedding, a pivotal moment that left audiences shocked. It became one of the most unforgettable scenes in television history.

Season 3 solidified Game of Thrones’ reputation as a masterful storytelling endeavor with its complex narrative, captivating character arcs, and significant turning points.

2. Season 4


The runner-up on our  Game of Thrones seasons ranked list is Season 4. It is often celebrated as one of the strongest installments of the series. Season 4 stands as the pinnacle of the series, widely regarded as one of the best seasons among fans and critics alike.

It brought intricate character development, shocking twists, and memorable moments to the forefront.

From the stunning Purple Wedding to the intense Trial by Combat, Season 4 solidified its place in the hearts of viewers and showcased the series’ ability to deliver compelling narratives.

1. Season 6


Finally, the season provoked many people to start watching this show. Reigning at the top of the Game of Thrones seasons ranked list. We have Season 6.

Season 6 of Game of Thrones was just perfect. It had all the elements that proved why Game of Thrones is the finest fantasy show of all time.

This season was full of major character deaths and game-changing revelations that captivated audiences, making episodes like “The Battle of the Bastards” and “The Winds of Winter” unforgettable.

With its skillful storytelling, tension-building, and resolution of long-standing storylines, Season 6 showcased the series at its peak.

Overall, Season 6 of Game of Thrones flawlessly balanced intricate storytelling, character development, shocking twists, and breathtaking action sequences. It showcased the series at its peak, providing fans with emotional highs and devastating lows.


In conclusion, Game of Thrones has left an indelible mark on the television landscape, captivating viewers with its richly imagined world, complex characters, and gripping narrative.

The Game of Thrones seasons ranked list reflects the varying opinions and preferences of fans. Each season contributed unique elements to the series, with moments of brilliance and occasional missteps.

Despite any criticisms, Game of Thrones remains an epic and influential television series that will continue to be remembered for its grandeur and impact on popular culture.

You may also like

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in TV Series